From Fuji to Sony!

Whaaaaaaa? But, but fuji is so awesome and stylish and the colors are amazing! They have dedicated dials for exposure comp, shutter speed, aperture and feel great in your hands! They make you look so cool! And who really needs more than 16 MP??

All true. 🙂 I still love the Fuji cameras and would definitely purchase an X-T1 if I was independently wealthy and all. But, since I can pretty much only afford one camera system at the moment, I had to go with the Sony. I chose the Sony a6000, because, to be honest, Trey recommended it, and well he knows his cameras! haha seriously, I chose it because it is a crazy good deal for the amount of camera you are getting. It’s like getting a ridiculously great deal on an international flight and then finding out you are getting upgraded to first class for free 🙂

And that’s exactly what this camera is, first class! So what’s the catch? (there must always be a catch!) hmmm…

#1: It’s not as pretty as the Fuji cameras (well looks aren’t everything?)

#2: Someone once said the menu system was designed by monkeys on crack (there is some truth to this!)

#3: You have to buy a separate battery charger for the wall because with the original package, you have to actually plug your camera in to charge it (Sony, you sent us back to the dinosaur age!)

#4: No dedicated dials for shutter speed, exposure comp, etc. (maybe I was just spoiled by the Fuji design)

#5: It’s soooo loud!! (spoiled again by Fuji’s silent mode)

…….

…………

…………….

well, I don’t have much else yet 🙂 It’s pretty awesome! I got the 10-18mm lens with it instead of the kit lens and it was well worth it for me. I looooove me some wide angle 🙂 Its also a lens that Trey recommended haha Pure happenstance!

The photos are sharp, the resolution is great, the autofocus is incredible, the electronic viewfinder is fast. I’m not the kind of person to get into all sorts of technical stuff, I’ll leave that to the experts, but I love this camera so far! Let’s let the photos speak for the camera now 🙂

arcanum-3I spent this past Sunday wandering around Copley square with a few awesome members of my cohort and none other than the Master A.D. Wheeler himself!! What a surprise!! Here are some photographs from that walk with the a6000.

weekendnh-4

copley-3

Above is Trinity Church from the backside :0 A great place to shoot if you love old churches! You can get inside the church for $7 admission or for free if you say you just want to pray! ahah

hallofideasThe Hall of Ideas inside the Mary Baker Eddy museum. There is a cool exhibit called the Mapporium where you can go inside a GIANT glass globe! The sound effects in there are pretty cool, try yodeling 🙂

These next ones are from some of my mid-day lunch break wanderings around the waterfront and post office square near the office.

lunchbreaksboston lunchbreaksboston3-10-15

After getting out of work around 11pm at night, one night the past week, I had brought my tripod and planned to take some night shots since I was already out late! I wanted to test the a6000’s long exposure and such and it turned out brilliantly! This is the view of the Boston city skyline from the seaport side, right after crossing the bridge in front of the Children’s museum. You can see the Boston Tea Party museum on the left side where you can visit and learn how rebellious us Bostonians are in our blood! 🙂

 

bostonnightwalks-5 bostonnightwalks

Boston at night is so incredible. It’s very very safe if you worry about it at night. I would use common sense as always, but I’ve definitely walked around places alone and never felt unsafe or uneasy. This bridge is a great place to shoot. Its right next to the Boston Harbor Hotel and connects the waterfront to the seaport. I caught it in a rare turning position that night!

bostonnightwalks-2

I believe this photograph below might capture the essence of the a6000. It might be a little flawed from my perspective (mostly on the looks and design categories), but it is beautifully flawed. This camera is beautiful in its work (definitely not looks, its an inside beauty!) and I cannot wait to shoot with it more!

 

weekendnh-2

Published by

Molly Kate

Hi there! I am a Boston based photographer who loves to photograph different people, places, and things all across the world. Meeting and learning about other people and cultures enraptures my attention like nothing else and in this I find the joy of life. Connection. Connection with others, with places, with the energy of the world! This is what drives me to photograph, to capture a small piece of my experiences to remember them by and share. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “From Fuji to Sony!”

    1. Hi Darren! Glad you love it, it is such a great camera! Thanks!! 🙂 🙂 Most of the images are not HDR, for most of my images in general, I shoot in RAW and drop the highlights and bring out the shadows using the sliders in Lightroom and this can make it look like it has high dynamic range qualities you would find in an HDR photograph. If I ever do HDR, I use the 32-bit export to Photoshop which automatically combines them in Ps and then brings the combined image back into Lightroom so you can process it further. I use the HDR sometimes as a base and then process in Lightroom or Color Efex Pro/Silver Efex Pro from there!

Leave a comment